Distinguished Teaching Awards

Wednesday, April 24, 2019

DTATreeLogo_210x241 McNamara Alumni Center
Event and registration details coming in March

Each spring the UMAA in partnership with the Senate Committee on Educational Policy, and the Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost honor the recipients of the Morse-Alumni awards and the Graduate and Professional Teaching awards.

These recipients are inducted into the Academy of Distinguished Teachers and carry the designation of Distinguished University Teaching Professor (faculty) or Distinguished University Teacher (P&A) throughout their careers at the University of Minnesota.

The University of Minnesota Alumni Association awards $50,000 annually to the recipients of the Horace T. Morse award – these funds are used to further their college research initiatives.

This year’s recipients were honored during a ceremony on Tuesday, April 17 from 3:30p-6:30p in McNamara Alumni Center.

Horace T. Morse - University of Minnesota Alumni Association Award for Outstanding Contributions to Undergraduate Education:

  • Geoffrey Bell, Management Studies/University of Minnesota Duluth
  • Sheryl Breen, Political Science/University of Minnesota Morris
  • Mitra Emad, Anthropology, Sociology and Criminology/University of Minnesota Duluth
  • David Fox, Earth Sciences/College of Science and Engineering
  • Jonathan Gewirtz, Psychology/College of Liberal Arts
  • David Matthes, Biology Teaching and Learning/College of Biological Sciences
  • Keith Mayes, African American and African Studies/College of Liberal Arts
  • Tracy Otten, Studio Art/University of Minnesota Morris

Award for Outstanding Contributions to Graduate and Professional Education:


Stay Connected.